Monday, December 27, 2010

I am still here...

And still reading!  I got a few new books to read, plus got the Barnes and Nobel's nook for Christmas!  So now no matter where I am, I will always have a book with me! Yay!!  I will say that I did some research between the nook(yes it is actually supposed to be lowercased!) and Kindle, and I decided on the nook.  There are reasons behind it, and while I know that both will eventually have the some of the same features, the nook was what I had chose for me.  I feel that it really is a personal choice, but here are my thoughts when I made my decision:

Format:  The nook's format allows for you to download books from other sites since it uses ePub.  I do know Books-a-million has been advertising the nook as well.  With the format you can download books from the library.  Since it is not an exclusive format like the Kindle it gives you more chances for free books(although I do know that people are able to get plenty of free books with Kindle)

Lending:  I liked the option to lend books to others that may have the app(for the computer or smart phones such as the iphone or android phones).  It is only for 14 days and one time only.  While this did contribute some I did read that the Kindle is working on adding that capability.

Brick and Mortar:   Ok so I know this sounds strange, but the fact that I can actually go to a Barnes and Nobel store is counterintuitive but I really like the idea that I can.  There are features and specials about going into the store with your nook which helps too!

Finally Rebelling:  See everyone at work with an ereader when I was doing my research all have Kindles...well part of me wanted something else.  I have always been that way and honestly Barnes and Nobel is my store that I like to go to compared to the other bookstores around.

So far I totally enjoy my nook, but as time goes on I will let you know what I think...but so far I really love it!

Sunday, December 19, 2010

Night Road by Kristin Hannah




First off I had won this off of goodreads.com in one of their giveaways, so it  is an advance readers' edition, as the book does not officially come out until March 29th, 2011.   I really enjoyed reading this book!  I know there were a few nights that I stayed up later than normal to read it!  Now I will say this book is told from different perspectives so for some that might be a downer...however with this book it adds to the emotional issues by seeing what the other characters were thinking.  Each person deals with the loss, their idenity, and forgiveness in different ways which  gives the book more depth.  I felt very connected to the story and will say at the end it had me in tears at different points.  Yes I was that involved in this book!  However after being away from the book for a few days, the ending is a bit too perfect...but it still doesn't change my thoughts on the book at all!  I feel that Kristin Hannah did a wonderful job in writing the book and making the characters come alive so that I could laugh, cry, and want with the characters!


I do recommend getting a copy once the book is published in March!  It was such a great read!


 So my rating on this book is:







Wednesday, December 8, 2010

A quickie review and some info for avid readers!

I will say that I finished the 4th book in the Nicholas Flamel series titled "The Necromancer" and I had some time off work so I finished it pretty quickly(about 24 hours)...I won't bore you with another similar post with the previous books so I will just say that the series is very good and should be read!


Now with that out of the way I do want to give some suggestions out for avid readers about getting free books!  There are two sites that I am aware of that anyone can possibly get Advance Reading Copies(ARC's), the first one is Barnes and Noble First Look Book Club(start out at bn.com from there look for the book clubs or my B&N).  I did this a few times and depending on how fast you are at requesting to be apart of the book, and then like any other online book club there are threads relating to the book.  I did this with a few books, but then got too busy to try and keep up with the threads.  However if you get in, the book was completely free!


The second site is goodreads.com. This site is free, and has many benefits and groups.  As one of my favorite authors described it "it is like Facebook, but for book lovers".  Now they have giveaways that you register for, and at random they choose a winner.  They do ask that you write a review although it isn't mandatory!  However I have a feeling that it helps with the other giveaways you enter.


Either one is a good option and you can get some great books from them!  Now I know this seems out of the blue, but I just got a book I had won from Goodreads.  I have started to read it, and while I haven't gotten far it is starting out good!  So be on the look out for a review about it later!

Sunday, November 21, 2010

Awesome opportunity!

So I found out a way to win about $500 in books!  Chronicle books is choosing a blogger to win!    For more info or a chance to win yourself if you have a blog check out http://www.chroniclebooks.com/happyhaulidays/


I wasn't paying too much attention and realized that you have to use chroniclebooks, and so I need to redo my list....


Ok so I finally looked through for a list of books and with out further ado:


  1. When Do They Serve the Wine?  Liza Donnelly  $19.95
  2. Sparky Beverly Gherman $16.99
  3. Pride and Prejudice and Zombies: Dawn of the Dreadfuls Steve Hockensmith  $12.95
  4. Pride and Prejudice and Zombies Deluxe Heirloom Editions Jane Austen and Seth Grahame-Smith $24.95
  5. Signing Their Lives Away Denise Kiernan and Joseph D'Agnese $19.95
  6. Classic Western Stories Cooper Edens $19.99
  7. Escape under the Forever Sky Eve Yohalem $16.99
  8. Hurry!Hurry! Have You Heard? Laura Krauss Melmed $16.99
  9. The Punch Noah Hawley $23.95
  10. The Truth about Dangerous Sea Creatures Mary Cerullo $6.99
  11. The Heartbreak Diet Thorina Rose $19.95
  12. At a Crossroads Kate Williamson $19.95
  13. Running Down a Dream:Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers Tom Petty $39.95
  14. What Would Wonder Woman Do Suzan Colon $15.95
  15. The Jane Austen Handbook Margaret Sullivan $16.95
  16. Listen to Her Voice Miki Raver $22.95
  17. Ivanhoe Marianna Mayer $17.95
  18. Peter Pan J.M. Barrie $19.95
  19. Under the Tuscan Sun Frances Mayes $22.95
  20. The Venetian's Wife Nick Bantock $22.95
  21. The Velveteen Rabbit Margery Bianco $17.95
  22. Between the Bridge and the River Craig Furguson $13.95
  23. The Tales of Peter Rabbit Beatrix Potter $6.95
  24. Day and Night Teddy Newton $14.99
  25. Android Karenina Leo Tolstoy and Ben Winters $12.95
  26. Blue Plate Special Michelle Kwasney $16.99
Grand Total of 482.98

Monday, November 15, 2010

The Magician(book # 2 of The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel)



Well this was a great follow up to the first book!  In fact it picks up where it left off with very little pause.  The fast pace adventure is still there, although I felt like it slowed down a bit when they were at Saint-Germain's house.  I think the author intended this as Sophie and Josh both needed some rest.  Perenell became more of a power player in my opinion as she deals with being in Alcatraz.  Machiavelli still is a bit of an enigma to me, at one point he seems almost likable, but still I consider him a "bad" guy...although there might still be hope for him yet(I will have to continue reading to see if that hope is true or not).  I have to say that I find this series so far to be quite entertaining, and keeping me wanting more(which is good since there is still 2 books published and 2 more that the author is finishing I think).  So I give this book the Excellent rating!






Wednesday, November 3, 2010

Alchemyst by Michael Scott





Ok so I must say this book sucked me in right away!  It is very action packed and kept me wondering what was going on.  Now for you Harry Potter fan's Nicholas Flamel created the Sorcerer's Stone, and the fact it causes the person to be immortal...however you won't see Dumbledore appear.  The author also tied in some of the different people of the Ancient worlds and mythological worlds.   It did take me a bit to read, but that is only because I was only reading it at work.  It does end on a cliffhanger, but the next book is out already, which I am thankful for..so I don't have to wait for it to come out :-p


I will say that some may have an issue with the narration of the book though.  It jumps from one character being the narrator to the next.  This doesn't bother me, but I know some people don't like it.  Otherwise I don't think this book has too much of a downfall.


So overall I give it an EXCELLENT rating!


Tuesday, November 2, 2010

Welcome

Hi!!


I am Heather and I love to read!  So much so that my sister the other day said that I should have been a book editor.  Well as you will find out, grammar and such isn't my forte.  She then suggested that I should be a book critic, this set me thinking.  A friend of mine does review the books she reads on a blog, so I figure I would give it a try.


I rate books on  how they entertain me, and my thoughts about it when I am done.  Very rarely do I find a book that I absolutely hate but there are a few.  On the side you will see my rating system.


One last note, these are just my opinions!  If you don't agree with me, that is fine you are entitled to your opinions too!  I don't mind you sharing your opinions, but no rude comments!  Also as I mentioned that grammar isn't my forte, you will find misspelled words and all types of errors I am sure, again no rude comments!  If you don't like it, or find it too terribly bad stop reading it!

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...