Monday, December 17, 2012

One for the Money by Janet Evanovich

From Amazon(image and blurb):
ONE FINE MESS
Welcome to Trenton, New Jersey, home to wiseguys, average Joes, and Stephanie Plum, who sports a big attitude and even bigger money problems (since losing her job as a lingerie buyer for a department store). Stephanie needs cash—fast—but times are tough, and soon she’s forced to turn to the last resort of the truly desperate: family...

ONE FALSE MOVE
Stephanie lands a gig at her sleazy cousin Vinnie’s bail bonding company. She’s got no experience. But that doesn’t matter. Neither does the fact that the bail jumper in question is local vice cop Joe Morelli. From the time he first looked up her dress to the time he first got into her pants, to the time Steph hit him with her father’s Buick, M-o-r-e-l-l-i has spelled t-r-o-u-b-l-e. And now the hot guy is in hot water—wanted for murder...

ONE FOR THE MONEY
Abject poverty is a great motivator for learning new skills, but being trained in the school of hard knocks by people like psycho prizefighter Benito Ramirez isn’t. Still, if Stephanie can nab Morelli in a week, she’ll make a cool ten grand. All she has to do is become an expert bounty hunter overnight—and keep herself from getting killed before she gets her man...

I had picked this book up to read as the movie trailer looked funny.  Humor is definitely a way to get me hooked.  The book had been sitting on the TBR mountain for a while and on a long road trip I finally was able to read it.  Apparently I am on a mystery/detective kick and this book was another good read!  There is a lot of sarcastic humor, which is right up my alley!  I will say that there is some sexual and adult content that I do not recommend it to a young adult.

The story line is very fast paced!  I was drawn in by the first line and the story didn't let me go.  I was able to read it in about half a day of straight reading.  I was definitely on the edge of my seat.  There are some intense scenes but they helped to keep me on the edge of my seat!

I definitely recommend reading this book, and can't wait to read the rest of the series!


Monday, December 10, 2012

Angel Dance by M.D. Grayson

Description: Description: Description: cid:image002.jpg@01CD4BB8.E91BA0A0
Provided during request
From Amazon:   Gina Fiore - beautiful Seattle heiress has vanished.
A foreign drug cartel and a Chicago organized crime family are looking.

Can Danny Logan rescue her before the noose closes?


I was approached by M.D. Grayson to read and review his book.  I took interest in it because I had started to enjoy the mystery genre.  I wasn't disappointed in the least!

I loved the old fashion detective undertones, while the story was in modern times.  The story was fast paced, and had lots of twists that I didn't see what was coming...even the ending was a bit unpredictable!  Since I am just beginning to venture into the genre and I may not have picked up all the clues.  Also there is a bit of a romance plot but it is minor and sort of sneaks up on you!

I also liked that it was told through one perspective, Danny Logan's, so nothing was revealed too early, and kept you thinking about what was going on.  Danny is a great character.  He is a 30 year old, that has been in the military and is now a PI. I enjoyed his sarcasm, which was humorous.  He is also a caring person, but isn't a wuss by any means!!  

The story line is very involved and kept me spellbound! Definitely a good read!




Saturday, November 24, 2012

Winner!!!

So I was on vacation and didn't get a chance to announce the winner for The Athena Effect until now!

So the winner of the eBook and the bookish necklace is:

Rachelle Lerner!

Congrats!!!

Derrolynn will be contacting you for info to send you the ebook and necklace!

Sunday, November 4, 2012

Heather's Opinion on All Things Book Related





Special for Sundays is an original feature, created by Heather of ‘Heather's Opinion on All Things Book Related’ and Ems of ‘In which Ems Reviews Books’.  We’ll rotate each week through various subjects, as follows:


1st Sunday: One of your Favorite Books and why is it so special to you

2nd Sunday: Two books that everyone must read and why

3rd Sunday: One of your Favorite Authors and why you pick their books up again and again

4th Sunday: A book on your TBR list, why you picked it, and when do you hope to read it

5th Sunday (on the rare occasions): Random book we have read and a quickie review. 


We hope you’ll join us for this fun feature!

Welcome Back!! Ok so I know I have already raved about this series over and over again, but I am going to do it again because I am so excited about news I found out this past week.....

The series is going to have 3 more books added to it!! So yes I am *squeeing* and so excited for 2014(possibly!!)....so if you haven't figured it out yet, I am talking about The Study Series by Maria V. Snyder.  
From Amazon.com
I honestly don't know what else to rave about this series, it is just something you need to pick up and read...I know I will be reading this several times before the new series comes out!






Thursday, November 1, 2012

Ebook and Bookish Necklace Giveaway



So Derrolyn Anderson wanted me to host a give away and let me tell you this one is pretty awesome!!
There is going to be 2 winners!  Each will get an ebook of The Athena Effect, and 1 of them will also receive this:

A Necklace to show off the colors of the auras that Callie sees made by Derrolyn Anderson herself!!
And look what is on the other side!!!



So while you won't get a signed hard copy of the book you can still get a signed tag with the book cover on it!  So how do you enter?  Fill out the Rafflecopter form below.  The ebook and necklace is open to US residents only, but the second ebook is international!  


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, October 31, 2012

The Athena Effect by Derrolyn Anderson


From Goodreads.com(image and blurb):
Country girl Cali has been kept a secret her entire life, raised in isolation by two very troubled people. Despite her parent’s disturbing fits, Cal is perfectly content, living at one with the nature that surrounds her, and finding adventure inside the pages of her beloved books. When an awful tragedy tears her away from her remote cabin in the woods, nothing she’s ever read has prepared her for a world that she knows very little about.

Girls and motorcycles are what bad-boy Cal’s life is all about. Brought up in a raucous party house by his biker brother, he’s free to do as he pleases, going through the motions on his final days of high school. Aimless, Cal stopped thinking about his future a long time ago.

Attacked by a gang of thugs while running an errand for his brother, Cal is in serious trouble until a fierce girl appears out of nowhere to intervene. She chases off three grown men, sparing Cal a brutal beating before disappearing into the night like a spirit. He can’t stop thinking about his mysterious rescuer, and when she turns out to be the weird new girl at school who goes out of her way to avoid him, he can’t contain his curiosity.

He’s never met anyone like her before, and the more he learns about the unusual girl who shares his nickname, the more he wants to know. Cal can’t help falling for Cal, but can he keep her from falling victim to a dangerous enemy from her parent’s tragic pas
t?



I was asked to review Athena Effect by Anderson. I agreed since I had enjoyed her previous series. I also like the premise and the mysticism that the book seemed to revolve around.

I did enjoy it. I really liked Callie's ability to see people's auras. It was a different from other books I had read. Also Anderson has the ability to cause an emotional response. One particular part really sticks in my mind and honestly still has the same feeling as when I first read it.

Callie is a teenager and definitely has more issues to deal with than any other teenager. High school wasn't the best years of my life, but I also didn't have to deal with my parents death, being unfamiliar with modern technology, and living with a total scum bag! While she is a strong female lead I did find fault in her. There are times when I wanted her to do more, mainly help others in situations that she was dealing with at the moment. However she is a very likable character.

I do think most of the book relied heavily on the romance between Callie and Cal. It wasn't a rapid love affair, mainly due to Callie's ability. Also the more intimate parts were not overly detailed, which isn't a bad thing. I would say this book is appropriate for a moderately mature young adult since there is some things mentioned but not described in great detail.

I do wish we could have learned more about the experiment and some of the side effects, however I don't think it detracted from the story. Overall I would recommend this book for an escapism read.




Monday, October 29, 2012

"Winter is Coming"

If you can tell me where the title comes from you get bonus points!  Anyway I am sorry for not blogging and I do have some catching up to do.  I just wanted to explain that I have been in a funk, and reading has slowed down as well as my desire to be on the computer.  Now I will check email and such from my phone but haven't really sat down to the computer much at all.  I have not given up!  For those author's that are waiting for me to read/finish/review their books I promise I am still working on it.  I am slowly gaining momentum and will keep working on it all!

Until then enjoy reading and checking in on me!


Sunday, October 28, 2012

Special for Sundays: 4th Sunday in October

Heather's Opinion on All Things Book Related





Special for Sundays is an original feature, created by Heather of ‘Heather's Opinion on All Things Book Related’ and Ems of ‘In which Ems Reviews Books’.  We’ll rotate each week through various subjects, as follows:


1st Sunday: One of your Favorite Books and why is it so special to you

2nd Sunday: Two books that everyone must read and why

3rd Sunday: One of your Favorite Authors and why you pick their books up again and again

4th Sunday: A book on your TBR list, why you picked it, and when do you hope to read it

5th Sunday (on the rare occasions): Random book we have read and a quickie review. 


We hope you’ll join us for this fun feature!

Welcome Back!! So this week is a book on the TBR MOUNTAIN!
Since my fellow creator had to text me about this book recently telling me I would enjoy it, so my book this week is:  
From Amazon

I had gotten interested when I seen it on Netgalley, however I had problems downloading it so I couldn't read it.  So for my birthday/vacation I bought it to read.  I thought I would have more time to read on my vacation and didn't...so it sits on my list until I get a chance to read it!  Soon I hope!






Sunday, October 21, 2012

Special For Sundays: 3rd Sunday in October

Heather's Opinion on All Things Book Related





Special for Sundays is an original feature, created by Heather of ‘Heather's Opinion on All Things Book Related’ and Ems of ‘In which Ems Reviews Books’.  We’ll rotate each week through various subjects, as follows:


1st Sunday: One of your Favorite Books and why is it so special to you

2nd Sunday: Two books that everyone must read and why

3rd Sunday: One of your Favorite Authors and why you pick their books up again and again

4th Sunday: A book on your TBR list, why you picked it, and when do you hope to read it

5th Sunday (on the rare occasions): Random book we have read and a quickie review. 


We hope you’ll join us for this fun feature!

Welcome Back!! So this week is a favorite Author and I am choosing:

Mary Stewart for The Arthurian Saga(all photos from BN.com)







I had read the series when I got out of school and was looking for something to read.  I really like the Arthurian legends so this series was up my alley.  I am definitely due for a re-read on this series too!






Thursday, September 20, 2012

The Jazz Cage by Ray Chen Smith

From Amazon
From Amazon:
Prohibition-era mobsters collide with Underground Railroad abolitionists in The Jazz Cage. It is 1924—sixty years after the South’s victory in the Civil War. Frank McCluey, bounty hunter for the mob, is sent to help out a wealthy Virginian bootlegger. Frank’s job: track down two female slaves who’ve run away from the millionaire. But the mob has made a bad choice. Instead of capturing the women, Frank decides to help them escape to Canada, his mission now aided by the pint-sized but steel-willed runaway Della and the outlawed Underground Railroad. Soon Della and Frank become the target of slave catchers, cops, gangsters, and most chilling of all, a Confederate agent nicknamed the Hound for his ability to always sniff out and disembowel his prey.

Ray Chen Smith had asked me to read and review The Jazz Cage.  I really liked the idea of a post Civil War where the South won.  The real history of the Civil war is an interest that I had when I was younger, and was shared with my dad and grandfather.  So seeing the premise caught my attention and I wanted to read more.

This story just blew me away!  I really enjoyed it.  When I was able to just sit and read, I was spellbound!  The story is fast paced and has a lot of action happening.  It definitely doesn't leave you feeling bored.  

The point of view does change, but Smith does a great job of letting you know who it is right away.  So I didn't feel lost, or confused.  I also felt like each character contributed to the story, and each point of view offered more clarity of the entire story.  I don't think I could pick just a few to talk about.  You just need to read it for yourself to realize how great they are!

So as you can tell I really enjoyed the book and highly recommend it!

Monday, September 17, 2012

Special for Sundays: 3rd Sunday in September

Heather's Opinion on All Things Book Related





Special for Sundays is an original feature, created by Heather of ‘Heather's Opinion on All Things Book Related’ and Ems of ‘In which Ems Reviews Books’.  We’ll rotate each week through various subjects, as follows:


1st Sunday: One of your Favorite Books and why is it so special to you

2nd Sunday: Two books that everyone must read and why

3rd Sunday: One of your Favorite Authors and why you pick their books up again and again

4th Sunday: A book on your TBR list, why you picked it, and when do you hope to read it

5th Sunday (on the rare occasions): Random book we have read and a quickie review. 


We hope you’ll join us for this fun feature!


From Wikipedia
Welcome back!  This week we are looking at Favorite Authors.  This week I am choosing Dr. Seuss!  Yes I know he isn't apart of my typical genre, but he had created a crazy wonderful world for children.  I know that some of the stories I have to revisit several times as an adult!  To find out more about him visit seussville.com to read more about his life and his books!

Sunday, September 9, 2012

Special for Sundays: 2nd Sunday in September

Heather's Opinion on All Things Book Related





Special for Sundays is an original feature, created by Heather of ‘Heather's Opinion on All Things Book Related’ and Ems of ‘In which Ems Reviews Books’.  We’ll rotate each week through various subjects, as follows:


1st Sunday: One of your Favorite Books and why is it so special to you

2nd Sunday: Two books that everyone must read and why

3rd Sunday: One of your Favorite Authors and why you pick their books up again and again

4th Sunday: A book on your TBR list, why you picked it, and when do you hope to read it

5th Sunday (on the rare occasions): Random book we have read and a quickie review. 


We hope you’ll join us for this fun feature!


Welcome back!  We are looking at 2 books everyone must read and this week I decided to allow my DBF, K.E.(Thanks for filling in!) to discuss his top 2 books, both of these are on my TBR mountain.

HI I am K.E. and love reading off my Kindle.  Before the Kindle I mostly read paperbacks from Tom Clancy and Stephen King, although I would read some classics like H. G. Wells and Robert Louis Stephenson.  I am a gadget geek so when I got my Kindle, my reading went to a whole new level.  So my top 2 books(I am a visual person so movies are briefly discussed) are actually series which both are dystopian genres in no particular order:


From Amazon.com
1) The Hunger Games:  It is a gripping story!  It is definitely a page turner,  which I read the series in one week! I have never done that in my life!  The evolution of  the story held my attention!  It makes me upset that it is taking so long to develop the second movie!



From Amazon.com
2) The Dark Tower Series: It combines a lot of things I am interested in: westerns, fantasy, and dystopian worlds. It is Stephen Kings magnum opus! There is a lot I can say, but I don't want to ruin it but there are certain chances King took with the story that were pretty neat.  This world that he created is the key stone of many books he has written.  I am waiting for the movies to come out, although I am having difficulties with the rumors of Roland.  I think that Clint Eastwood IS Roland hands down!  However I do realize he is too old, so I guess we will have to wait and see if the movies ever come out and who the cast will be.  However I have been wrong about who the best actor is for parts(I didn't think Daniel Craig would be a good James Bond, but he is one of my favorite James Bond).

Tuesday, September 4, 2012

The Son of Rage and Love by Thomas Raymond

Image from Amazon.com

Blurb from Amazon.com:
12 Year-old Daniel used to run, jump, and climb on everything in sight. He played, laughed, made all kinds of noise, took things apart, and built new stuff from the pieces. Unfortunately for him, such acts of nonconformity can make inconvenient ripples on the smooth surface of wealthy suburban bliss. Years ago, Daniel was judged to have ADHD, and soon, "Pills fixed all that. They quiet most of my imagination, and the video swallows up whatever’s left."

Nowadays, Daniel just wants a little adventure, a bit of unscripted life to clear up the fog of his mundane existence. Every aspect of his life is under strict control of a narcissistic Grandmother, and the minions she hires to run the house. Disillusioned with the "remoras" who worship his mother's money and fame, and certain his older sister is becoming one of them, Daniel has all but given up hope. "I've learned not to fuss . . . A fuss is a big mistake. . . . At least I am smart enough to just take the pill and wait for the fog to roll in." But years of heavy medication coupled with long escapes into video games have turned his world to grey, blurring his perception of reality versus fantasy.

When Daniel's mother adopts a 13 year-old, free-spirited orphan, the two boys become immediate friends and allies. The absolute authority of Grandmother is finally challenged. The ensuing struggle at once gives Daniel hope, but also threatens his sanity.

The Son of Rage and Love is the intense, at times disturbing story of one boy's quest to reclaim his own mind. In a place and time where the appearance of the perfect life is more important than freedom itself, where strong will and disruptive ideas are quickly medicated into quiet indifference, Daniel and his new brother try against the odds to sever the puppet strings for good.


Thomas Raymond had asked me to read and review his book.  I had agreed as it seemed quite interesting.  Raymond had sent me a hard copy, and even signed it.  Which is I thought was very nice of him to do!  

It is a short book and moves at a quick pace.  It is told from Daniel's perspective, which I found to be quite entertaining.  He has a very active imagination, but that seems to help him deal with his life.  There are a few twists that you find out when reading the book, which helps to shape the rest of the book.

Grandmother is someone that I didn't like, shows how much a person can change when money is involved.  I didn't like her from the start and as the storyline goes on she only irritates me more!  She also is big with using the guilt card with everyone, no matter who it is!  (which I have mentioned several times to have a character that you are made not to like is a good thing!)

I have to say my only issue is that the book's ending seemed a bit too quick and rushed.  However with what was happening it could have been the way I was reading it.  Otherwise it was a very enjoyable book!


Sunday, September 2, 2012

Special for Sundays: 4th Sunday in August and 1st in Sept.

Heather's Opinion on All Things Book Related





Special for Sundays is an original feature, created by Heather of ‘Heather's Opinion on All Things Book Related’ and Ems of ‘In which Ems Reviews Books’.  We’ll rotate each week through various subjects, as follows:


1st Sunday: One of your Favorite Books and why is it so special to you

2nd Sunday: Two books that everyone must read and why

3rd Sunday: One of your Favorite Authors and why you pick their books up again and again

4th Sunday: A book on your TBR list, why you picked it, and when do you hope to read it

5th Sunday (on the rare occasions): Random book we have read and a quickie review. 


We hope you’ll join us for this fun feature!


Welcome back!  I have been quite busy but here is last week's and this week's post:

So for the last Sunday in August:

I had won a gently used ARC from In Which Em's Reviews books.  I have heard great things about it and can't wait to read it!






First Sunday in September:

One of my favorite books is:

I had read this in high school and enjoyed it.  It was a bit different from my normal reading then, and while it was for a book report I didn't get bored with it.  I thought over all Buck had written it wonderfully and later I had bought it to re-read.  While I am trying to knock out my some of my TBR mountain I do plan on re-reading this one day!

Wednesday, August 29, 2012

WWW Wednesdays


WWW Wednesdays is hosted by Should Be Reading.  To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…
• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?
Currently Reading:  The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien
Recently Finished:  The Son of Rage and Love by Thomas Raymond

Next to Read:  The Jazz Cage by Ray Chen Smith

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...